Film & Literature Competition

the attack winner of the 2013 dioraphte film and literature competitionFilm by the Sea is the festival for film and literature. Its focus on literary adaptations distinguishes the festival from others in the Netherlands and Europe. There are many literary activities and twelve recent literary adaptations compete for the Film by the Sea Award in the Diorapthe Film and Literature competition. The award will be handed out by a professional jury consisting of Dutch and Flemish writers, actors and filmmakers.

Previous winners

2013 The Attack Ziad Doueiri
2012  'Shadow Dancer'  James Marsh
2011 'Oranges and Sunshine' Jim Loach
2010 'Submarino' Thomas Vinterberg
2009 'Le hérisson' Mona Achache
2008 'Entre les murs' Laurent Cantet
2007 'Border Post' Rajko Grlic
2006 'Mother of Mine'  Klaus Härö
2005 'Le couperet' Constantin Costa-Gravas
2004 'Witnesses' Vinko Bresan
2003 'Mang jing' Li Yang
2002 'Burning in the Wind' Silvio Soldini
2001 'The Weight of Water' Kathryn Bigelow
2000 'Angels of the Universe' Fridrik Thór Fridriksson

Ordina - Sponsor Film by the Sea Jusstion Advocaten - Sponsor Film by the Sea De Drukkerij - Sponsor Film by the Sea
De Hypotheker - Sponsor Film by the Sea    


Discussion in collaboration with PEN after Manuscripts Dont Burn

After the screening of Manuscripts Don’t Burn on sunday 14 September, there will be a discussion organised in ...

Actrice Sylvia Hoeks wins first Sylvia Kristel Award

Actress Sylvia Hoeks will be the first person to ever receive the Sylvia Kristel Award during the Award Ceremony on friday...

New subprogramme: Van Boek naar Doek

There is a new subprogramme for distributors and filmproducers at Film by the Sea; ‘Van Boek naar Doek’ (Dutch for from ...